Weird Fruit Day!

When I was little, my mom used to do some pretty awesome things. Since she usually worked on weekends, every so often she would call my brother and I off from school and declare it “Matthew and Kimberly Day.” She would literally call our school and tell the receptionist that her children would not be in class today because she was taking them to the beach. Or the zoo. Or Navy Pier…or wherever we decided we wanted to go that day. It was almost embarassing when the receptionist would be all “Uhm…ok…are your children sick?” And my mom would respond with “No, we’re going to the beach today. Have a nice day!”

CLICK.

Other times, when we’d actually have to go to school, my brother and I would wake up to find out it was Weird Fruit Day. I’ll never forget that morning when instead of eating a normal bowl of cereal for breakfast, we had things like mangos, papayas and star fruit. I remember going to school and asking my friends what they had for Weird Fruit Day only to be met with blank stares. Sneaky mom.

When I saw star fruit on sale for $.98 each at the grocery store today, my heart skipped a beat. Happy Weird Fruit Day!

If you’ve never had star fruit, let me just tell you they are totally delicious. They’re like a cross between a grape and an apple in terms of texture, but more grape-like in taste. Sort of?

They made me smile today. It’s always the little things, isn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Weird Fruit Day!

  1. I love the sense of adventure your mom instilled in you from the start! We wear it as a badge of honor to know what things like starfruit, pomelo, and sapote taste like and hope the little man will be as adventurous so we’re starting him young!

Leave a Reply

