Healthy Cream of Asparagus Soup

A couple of months ago my boss walked past my desk during lunch and stopped dead in his tracks.

“What are you…eating?! It looks like gruel!” 

He stared for a few more seconds before walking away, shaking his head.

Yeah, embarrassing! In his defense, the soup I brought for lunch that day did look terrible…and it tasted terrible too. Note to self: never buy Latin Style Black Bean Soup from Trader Joe’s again. Regardless, I do not want to be known around the office as the girl who eats gruel for lunch…

[Source]

Except, if people actually do start calling me ‘gruel girl’, I totally brought it upon myself. I’ll be the first to admit I’m not your average brown bag lunch kind of gal. And even though this winter (can I even call it that?!) has been unseasonably warm, I’ve been on a real soup kick lately. You see, soups are virtually impossible to screw up which is probably why I like making them-it’s such an easy way to make myself look domesticated. First there was the Veggie Stew. Then I tried my hand at Curried Acorn Squash and Apple Soup. I even made Crock Pot Minestrone Soup a few weeks ago. Oh, and don’t you worry, I have plans to give black bean soup (the homemade variety) another chance pretty soon…I’ll be sure to make extra for the boss 😉

For a quick change of pace from heavy winter comfort food I decided to make a lighter soup last night. A spring soup! I know that silly groundhog says we’re in for six more weeks of winter, but I can’t help but think of brighter, warmer days with this little concoction…

Healthy Cream of Asparagus Soup!

Mmmm, right?!  <—-(Kind of a joke because maybe it just looks like green gruel? I swear it’s delicious!)

I used greek yogurt for the “cream” and couldn’t be happier with the result. Plus, it’s such a sneaky way to get in some extra protein. I seriously love how versatile greek yogurt is-don’t know what I’d do without it!

Cream of Asparagus Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb of asparagus

2-3 cups of vegetable broth (depends on how soupy you want it!)

1/2 medium sized onion

1 6 oz container of plain greek yogurt

1 T olive oil

1 T cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cut the tough ends off the asparagus and discard. Chop asparagus in half.

Bring vegetable broth to a boil in a medium-sized pot. Add asparagus and boil until tender, 3-5 minutes. Remove from heat.

Meanwhile, sauté garlic and onions in olive oil until onion is soft and translucent.

Add vegetable broth, asparagus, onions and garlic to a food processor or blender and puree until smooth. Return to pot. Add greek yogurt, cayenne, salt and pepper and stir until combined.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Cream of Asparagus Soup

Leave a Reply

