Better Than Potato Chips

Now, what in the world could possibly be better than potato chips, you ask? KALE CHIPS.

I know it sounds totally ridiculous but if there was ever a food that could come close to the deliciously salty crunch of a potato chip…this is it. Plus, wouldn’t you rather replace a deep-fried, calorie and fat laden snack with one that is baked, has only “good fat” and mind-blowing amounts of Vitamin A and C? I would.

All you do is toss some kale with EVOO (how much? I don’t know…I don’t measure) and a little salt and pepper until the leaves are coated. I sprinkled mine with garlic salt too…maybe a little too much salt? Nah, never too much.

Next place the kale on a foil lined baking pan and bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes, or until the leaves are dry and crunchy. Then devour. And don’t feel guilty about it.

I seriously just found my new favorite snack.

Have you ever tried kale chips? What else can you do with kale? Besides “massage” it and make a salad…what does that even mean?!

5 thoughts on “Better Than Potato Chips

    • Yes, actually! You have to be careful not to burn the leaves, but they do dry out and get crunchy. I took mine out a bit early so they wouldn’t burn- the leaves were crispier than the stems- perfect for me!

  1. I totally don’t get kale chips, but I’m not a potato chip person either. Maybe we didn’t use enough salt or they were too “done” but I thought they were too brittle and tasted like slightly-burnt air. πŸ™‚ I had very high expectations with all the hype. I’ve put kale in soups (in place of spinach or other greens) and like that MUCH better.

    • Oh man, I am the potato chip QUEEN. I remember you not being too impressed w/ kale chips….I really liked them! I think mine we’re slightly under-done though- I didn’t want a mouth full of char πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Soup for the Soul | Raising The Barre

Leave a Reply

