Home Is Where The ? Is…

I’ve been back in the States for exactly one week now and while it does feel good to be home, it has taken some getting used to as well.  First of all, I have been thinking a lot about the word “home.”  Are you only allowed 1 home?  Because I feel like I have had at least 4 and am well on my way to number 5.  I honestly felt like I left my “home” in Malaga to come back…”home.”   Confusing.  What’s in a home anyway?

 

The most natural feeling thing for me to do right now is analyze EVERYTHING.  I keep catching myself comparing the differences between my American home and my European home.  And let me tell you, there are tons.

 

 

Like bathrooms, for example.  I am constantly fighting the urge to turn the water off while I shampoo/condition/shave in the shower.  It seriously feels foreign to me to have the water pouring over my head for the duration of my shower.  What a waste :/  Then there are public bathrooms.  I think I actually had to pick my jaw up off the floor when I found not one, but TWO rolls of toilet paper in the women’s bathroom in a dive bar in the heart of Brooklyn.  TWO?  At a dive bar?  And the bathroom was CLEAN?  What?!  Isn’t it weird that this is something I am actually having to get used to?

I also can’t get over the friendliness factor.  Complete strangers are saying “excuse me” and “hello” in the supermarket…they are even, get this….SMILING.  I can’t say this is something that makes me uncomfortable though.  Quite the opposite actually.  I missed how friendly people are (for the most part) to each other here.  It’s so refreshing and puts me in a better mood for no reason at all.  I don’t think I will miss the cold shoulders and uninviting stares I became so accustomed to in my other “home.”

And then there’s the whole driving thing.  Ugh, I hate driving.  Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t have to get in my car EVERY TIME I wanted to go somewhere but it’s a sad fact of living in suburbia.  It makes me itch.  I miss walking and public transport.

It’s great to be back though.  I have a lot of exciting things ahead of me and I can’t wait to see where my life takes me next.  I’ll give you a hint- it includes moving to a new city, finding job and of course, travel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

