I Demand A Do-Over! [London]

London, for me, was not as special as I had hoped it would be.  Truthfully, London has never been on the top of my travel agenda, but when you have friends living in Scotland (free place to sleep), and an entire WEEK off of work (I love Spain), you plan a little trip for yourself and aprovechar…as we like to say here in Spain 😉

Don’t get me wrong, there were definitely things I LOVED about London.  For example, art, in all of its forms, is fantastic in London.  I was especially struck by the fashion, which I am unfortunately not creepy (or confident?) enough to document.  It was funky yet elegant, and I was totally digging it.

I also loved both of the art museums I went to-

 The Tate Modern,

 and The National Gallery.

  I spent  several hours in each wandering and pondering the works of some of Europe’s most famous artists like Renoir, Monet, Picasso, Van Gogh, And Van Eyck. 

 Per usual, I found the street art to be just as inspiring…

As for the things I didn’t like…well, the weather was one.  It was cold, grey, and windy every single day, and I am pretty sure that was considered GREAT weather for London.  I really shouldn’t complain though because it never actually rained, which I hear is completely out of character for this town.

I also didn’t really like my hostel, The Walrus Waterloo.   I stayed in a 16 bed dorm, which, for lack of a better way to say it, was just…too…much. 

Truthfully, the location was great, but the ambiance was not.  Even though there were plenty of people staying in the hostel, I found most of them to be very closed off and borderline unfriendly…not cool!  I also found it frustrating that the hostel didn’t have a common room, or any place besides the bar downstairs (which was not open during the day and did not have wifi) to hang out.

I’ve decided, however, that I would definitely give London another chance if ever presented with the opportunity. 

 Did you ever have “do-overs” as a kid?  Like when you are playing a board game and you roll a 3 on the dice when you really wanted a 5….DO-OVER!  Yeah, that’s kind of how I feel about London.

Leave a Reply

