How To Make Tortilla Española!

When you hear the word “tortilla” you probably picture something made from flour or corn and stuffed to the gills with beans, veggies and meat…right?  Wrong.  Welcome to Spain.

Tortilla Española has become a staple in my diet here.  Mostly because it’s cheap, delicious, and consistent.  As in, no matter where you order it, it will probably taste the same.  Literally translated, Spanish tortilla is something like an egg and potato omelette.  You can eat it hot, cold, by itself, on a sandwich, as a tapa, as a meal, or even at 4:30 AM when you get back from the bar.  Rest assured, it is deeeelicious no matter how you choose to eat it, or which state of mind you are in when you do. 🙂

I have been dying to make tortilla on my own for longer than I’d like to admit, but I’ve never attempted to do so for two reasons: 

1.  I can’t even make an “American” omelette (I seriously can’t…the flipping thing gets me every time and then I just scramble the damn thing and call it good).

2.  I’m more of a “learn by watching” rather than a “learn by doing” type of person.  What can I say, that’s just how I roll.

I decided it would be completely unacceptable of me to leave Spain without learning how to make a proper tortilla, so I did what any unknowing American living in a foreign country would do…I recruited a local… my Spanish roommate, Sara.

Ready to begin?  Here’s what you’ll need:

-Oil

-Eggs  ( I used 3)

-Potatoes (I used about 4 teeny tiny ones)

-Onion (optional)

Now for the magic.  First, cut the potatoes into thin slices and then quarter the slices.  Next, fry the onions and potatoes in oil until they are soft.

When they are soft, remove the onions and potatoes from the oil and place them in a separate bowl.  After you have whisked the eggs, add the egg mixture to the potatoes.  Give everything a good stir so all the potatoes are coated with the eggs!

Similar to American omelettes, you NEED a good non-stick pan to do this properly.  Pour out most of the oil used for frying the potatoes so that only a couple of tablespoons remain in the pan.  Add the egg/potato mixture, press down with a spatula and let it cook on medium/low heat for about 10 minutes, or until the eggs are set.

Unless you have mad flipping skills, you’ll need to get a plate for the next part.  Place the plate over the skillet and flip the tortilla onto the plate. 

 Then slide the whole thing back into the pan to cook the other side.

When the eggs are cooked, it’s done! Weee!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “How To Make Tortilla Española!

Leave a Reply

