A day in Marbella

I realize it is probably wrong of me to post about Marbella before I post about Malaga, where I am actually living, but oh well.  Malaga, you will have your time!

Today a couple friends and I took a little day trip to Marbella, another beach town that is about 45 minutes west of Malaga by bus.  We really had no plans or any sort of agenda for what we wanted to do once we got there, we just wanted to go.

And so we did.

But, not before fueling up on a delicious (not to be confused with nutritious) breakfast of churros con chocolate.

Luckily for me, this little gem of a cafe is located right here in Malaga, so you best believe I will be returning.  The churros are  cheap and greasy, the chocolate is thick (and perfectly acceptable to DRINK), and the coffee is strong… a splendid way to start any day!

Once we arrived in Marbella we started walking aimlessly out of the bus station until we stumbled upon a little corner bakery that we just couldn’t pass up.  That’s the beauty of not making any plans…you just go wherever the wind blows  you.  Today the wind decided my sugar level needed to be through the roof so after much contemplation I finally decided on THIS:

It was a great decision…the middle part with the berries was the best.  🙂

After our second breakfast we wandered around Marbella’s old town for awhile.  The streets were really pretty- all of the buildings were white and there were flowers or plants hanging from almost every balcony.

We didn’t really do anything that was officially “touristy”- mostly just walked around admiring the views and snapping photos.  We did stop inside a random cathedral and watch a baptism for awhile though…that was kind of fun.

After our city tour we headed to the beach.  Unfortunately it was really cloudy today, (really rare for La Costa del SOL!) but we enjoyed our time anyway.  Some of my favorite pics–

After awhile we decided it was time to hang out with our good friend Don Simon for a few hours….

Here in Spain we drink a lot of Tinto de Verano-  basically it’s just cheap boxed wine mixed with orange or lemon Fanta.  I know, I know….we are SO FANCY!

Once we said farewell to Don we found a restaurant for lunch (it was about 4 pm), stopped at the bakery AGAIN for coffee and more treats (don’t judge), and eventually meandered our way back up to the bus station to catch the 7 pm bus back to Malaga.

In all it was a great day.  Good friends, wayyy too much food, fresh air, and a change of scenery.

6 thoughts on “A day in Marbella

  1. Mar bella is right! The streetscapes are also beautiful. Great photo of the bird of paradise. Do you know what the story is with the slides on the 4-wheeled vehicles?

  2. Hey its Em Carl! I stumbled across your blog and can I just say….jealous?! I want to go back so bad! I went to Malaga for a few days over spring break and it was gorgeous! I miss everything about Spain. I hope you’re having an amazing time living the Spanish life while all of us here in the US of A are wishing we were too.

    P.S. Say hi to Granada for me!

    • Hey Em! So great to hear from you! What are your plans for after graduation? If you want to come back you always can… 😉 Thanks for the well wishes, I hope you are enjoying your SENIOR YEAR! It goes by way too fast…enjoy it, lady!
      besos,
      Kim

  3. I have no idea what I’m doing after graduation! But if you hear of anything for me in Spain let me know 🙂 I’m hoping to freelance as soon as I’m done with school. Senior year is flying by! I can’t believe we’re almost done with this semester. Not ready for reality yet…hahaha

  4. Pingback: 48 Hours in Malaga | Near and Viajar

Leave a Reply

