Lagos, Portugal

This past weekend I went to Lagos, Portugal and had one of the best trips of my life!  I get the biggest rush from traveling and seeing such beautiful places I didn’t even know existed- it’s one of the best feelings I’ve ever felt, yet also one of the hardest to describe.  It really does make you feel like you are on top of the world 🙂

First, the hotel.  We stayed at hotel Agua Luz… 4 stars and absolutely beautiful.  Check out the pool!

I was too busy beachin’ it up the entire trip so I never got to actually use the pool, but it looks nice right?!  The rooms were all suite-style and enormous– bedroom, bathroom, living room, and fully stocked kitchens…I think this hotel room was bigger than my last apartment…

I’d probably recommend this hotel for the breakfast buffet alone, but the rooms, location, and pool make it one of the best places I’ve ever stayed…seriously!  If you ever find yourself in Lagos, this hotel is top notch.

We spent the first day at Praia Dona Ana, the beach that graces the front of most of Lagos’s postcards.

It’s easy to see why- the water was crystal clear and the most beeeautiful shade of blue.  Let’s just say I did not have a hard time lying around all day with nothing to do but soak up the rays and enjoy the view.

Naturally, after such a long hard day of lounging on a beautiful beach in southern Portugal, we were starved by the time dinner rolled around.  No, I’m not going to tell you about the best traditional Portuguese restaurant in Lagos…I actually won’t be telling you about any traditional Portuguese restaurants because I didn’t go to any (I know, BAD!).

I will, however, be telling you about a little place called Nah Nah Bah.  The owner also owns Rising Cock Hostel which I heard is THE hostel to stay at in Lagos-assuming, of course, you are a fun loving, party going backpacker.  Anyway, I’m pretty sure I had the best burger of my entire life at Nah Nah Bah- not only was it bigger than my face, but it was the perfect mixture of spicy with a touch of sweet sweet pineapple.  I’m drooling just thinking about it…

The next day was my personal favorite.  We started the morning off with a 2 hour all-you-can-drink sangria sailboat cruise.

I had doubts about the sangria running out, but fear not my friends, it was flowing like water for the duration of the cruise :).

We spent the afternoon basking in the sun, sipping fruit filled wine, swimming off the boat and touring the grottos.  In other words, it was an afternoon of pure perfection.

Later that evening we ventured to Sagres- about 30 minutes west of Lagos.  Sagres is actually the southwestern-most point in Europe and was once thought to be the end of the earth!  We arrived to the top of a veryyy windy plateau just in time to see the sun set…ahhh, bliss.

Our last day in Lagos was spent at yet another beach (go figure).  This time, we drove to the west coast once again for a day of surfing.  Regrettably, I did not sign up for the surf lesson, but I got to watch a lot of people in our group and it was quite entertaining.  In lieu of a full body work out I opted for a lazy day on my beach towel doing only the bare minimum to survive.  This consisted of applying sunscreen, flipping over periodically, and drinking water.  Let me tell you, life is rough right now…

This weekend I make my move to my teaching destination, Malaga.  It’s hard to believe my time in Sevilla is over and I have to say goodbye to many of the friends I’ve made here who are teaching in other cities.  I’m officially on the hunt for a place to live in Malaga..stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Lagos, Portugal

  1. Pingback: My new diet and YOUR best gift ever! | Near and Viajar

Leave a Reply

