Hot Town, Summer In The City

Whew, what a weekend!  I took a little trip down to Kansas City and holy cow was it H-O-T!  I am barely squeaking by without A/C in Des Moines, but no A/C in KC is just not an option- it’s way too hot!

Anyway, Andy and I did lots of fun things this weekend beginning with a concert on Friday night!  We saw OAR at Starlight Theater and let’s just say a good time was definitely had by all.  Starlight is an outdoor theater in Kansas City, and I’m just not sure anything can top live music on a warm, breezy summer night.Live music, good friends, cold beer…yup, it was a success!

On Saturday afternoon we went to a little party in support of one of our fellow 2010 Drake graduates.  One of our friends recently launched her own children’s clothing line called Lincoln and Lexi.  She does home parties and baby showers as of now, but if you’re in the market for baby clothes or cute gift ideas definitely check her out!  Plus, isn’t it amazing to be able to support such a young entrepreneur?

On Saturday night Andy and I saw the movie Inception.  Wow.  If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend!  All I can say is that it has been quite awhile since a movie made me think so hard, and question so much.  A real puzzler!

I’ve spent quite a few weekends in Kansas City this summer and I have to say how much I’ve enjoyed discovering the city.  There are so many hip bars and restaurants, and the shopping…oh dear don’t even get me started on the shopping.  Anyway, since breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, Andy took me to this little gem on Sunday-

Isn’t it cute?!  In this case it is definitely OK to judge a book by its cover- this place was so good!  I wanted just about everything on the menu, but decided that it would be sinful to pass up the Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal.

Served piping hot with skim milk, a sliced banana, brown sugar, a buttery english muffin, and a DOILY!  When was the last time you ate breakfast off a doily?  It was seriously some of the best oatmeal I’ve ever had and I was proudly a member of the “clean plate club” that morning. 😀

My weekend in one word?  Perfect.  Now its time for another week back at work but more adventures are sure to come because guess who has a birthday this week?!

One thought on “Hot Town, Summer In The City

Leave a Reply

